Academic Center

Academic Center page topper

Get the best of both worlds

Students in grades 10-12 may opt to attend Lehigh Career & Technical Institute for a full day. Full-day students take academic courses in LCTI’s Academic Center, rather than at their sending high schools. It’s the best of both worlds — career and technical education programs plus traditional academic courses — in one place.

All about the Academic Center

Mark Covelle, Ed.D.

Principal

610-799-1364 | covellem@lcti.org


Jissell Marmolejos

Secretary

610-799-1301 | marmolejosj@lcti.org


Shirley Chanitz

Intervention Assistant

610-799-1389 | chanitzs@lcti.org

The Academic Center advantage

Small class sizes

The average Academic Center class size is 20 to 25 students. As a result, students get plenty of one-on-one time with their teachers.

Highly qualified teachers

Academic Center teachers are state certified in the subjects they teach, ensuring a rigorous and relevant learning environment for students.

Modern facilities

Academic Center classrooms are outfitted with the latest technology, including interactive whiteboards, laptops and virtual reality equipment.

College credit opportunities

Students can earn college credit by completing select Academic Center courses, such as, Accelerated English Language Arts III and IV.

Dual-enrollment options

Eligible students can get a head start on their postsecondary education by enrolling in courses at nearby Lehigh Carbon Community College.

Challenging coursework

Academic Center courses meet or exceed graduation requirements, preparing students for college and career success.

Integrated curriculum

Academic lessons complement LCTI’s career and technical education programs through hands-on and problem-based learning activities.

Community connection

Full-day students study at LCTI, but attend sporting events, enjoy prom, celebrate graduation and mark other milestones at their sending schools.

The latest Academic Center news

LCTI adult workforce education school

Lehigh Career & Technical Institute hires six new teachers

The JOC also approved hiring an administrator and a support staffer.

View Story

LCTI logo, building, exterior

Important information for new and returning students

Here are some tips and reminders to get you started in 2019-2020.

View Story

Academic Center success stories

Nancy Eskander

Nancy is a Louis E. Dieruff Husky.

Peter Baxter

Peter is an Emmaus Green Hornet.

Bryanna Ruiz

Bryanna is a William Allen Canary.

Alex Ortiz

Alex is a Southern Lehigh Spartan.

Academic Center courses & faculty

English

English Language Arts II

English Language Arts III

English Language Arts IV

Accelerated English
Language Arts III

Accelerated English
Language Arts IV


Amanda Darragh, Teacher
darragha@lcti.org

Kathy Khanuja, Teacher
khanujak1@lcti.org

Donna Miller, Teacher
millerd@lcti.org

Douglas Troxell, Teacher
troxelld1@lcti.org

Mathematics

Algebra II

Geometry

Pre-Calculus

Calculus


Karen Amate, Teacher
amatek@lcti.org

Vince Dabrowski, Teacher
dabrowskiv@lcti.org

Stacy Sommer, Teacher
sommers@lcti.org

Science

Biology

Chemistry

Environmental Science

Physics


Karen Amate, Teacher
amatek@lcti.org

Marina Busuek, Teacher
busuekm@lcti.org

Laura McGrath, Teacher
mcgrathl2@lcti.org

Kathleen Siekonic, Teacher
siekonick@lcti.org

Social Studies

American Studies II

World Cultures

American Government/
Civics/Economics

Accelerated American Government/Civics/
Economics


James Dawson Jr., Teacher
dawsonj@lcti.org

Taylor Lindsey, Teacher
lindseyt@lcti.org

John Loeper, Teacher
loeperj@lcti.org

Sean Thomson, Teacher
thomsons@lcti.org

Physical Education

Wellness/Fitness 11

Wellness/Fitness 12


Kelly Bracetty, Teacher
bracettyk@lcti.org

Donald Brensinger, Teacher
brensingerd@lcti.org

Charlene Rarick-Knauss, Teacher
rarick-knaussc@lcti.org

Recent Academic Center photos

LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom
LCTI students in Academic Center classroom

4500
Education Park Drive

Schnecksville, PA
18078

Our mission at LCTI is to prepare all students for successful careers and lifelong learning.